top of page

Crossing the Canyon


On a recent hiking trip, I had a lot of time to spend in my own brain. I found myself drawn to the idea of journeys. The many different journeys myself, clients, future clients, friends, all of us, will face in our lives.

Perhaps that journey is out of an unhealthy relationship, recovery from substance abuse, infertility, healing from trauma, establishing new healthy boundaries, the possibilities are infinite. But one thing that every single journey has in common is the basic path.

On day 1 at the Grand Canyon, I could see clearly to the other side. It seemed so close, so tangible. I had no clue what type of effort it would take to finish this hike but I knew I wanted it. So I started my journey. Right away, in the slippery snow, I fell and lost my hiking pole down the side of the canyon. I thought "what the hell am I doing". Later, I heard something that sounded like a bomb and noticed rocks falling from above. Ducking under an overhang, it crept back in - "what the hell am I doing".

The trail got easier at times and got much more difficult at times. It ebbed and flowed. The other side was not close at all. That view from the top was deceiving. But it always is. We see where we want to be, but how to get there is unknown. And it's usually a shit ton of effort. It takes pushing through uncertainty and difficulty. It takes wanting to reach the other side so badly that you keep going, even when the universe seems intent on making you stop.

Here's the thing: EVERY SINGLE ONE of us is capable of reaching the other side. Every single one of us have untapped resiliency and strength. It's not something reserved for people who are different than you. It's something within YOU already!

As therapists, we are not experts on your specific journey. Having crossed our own canyons, we're passionate about helping you on yours. What we can offer you is an extra bit of encouragement, a mirror that helps you see your own strength, tools for the journey, empathy when the journey gets hard, and maybe a bad joke here and there. A partner when the hazards become overwhelming and "what the hell am I doing" starts creeping in.

When you are climbing back to the top, toward your goal, and you're basking in your own power, it's like magic. Every canyon, however big or small, builds more magic. The magic accumulates and you start feeling empowered. On the regular. Life starts to feel different - good different.

Sometimes even deciding you want to cross is a journey in itself. Understanding what you want and need, reconnecting with yourself, can be hard work.

If you're ready to cross your canyon, we're ready too. It's the bravest, most scary gift you can give yourself. Be brave, be bold, and be well!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page