top of page

Turning down the noise

The skill of quieting your mind can be a tough one to learn. Quite often, our minds are the first thing to be activated when we go through struggles or changes. Our bodies say, “Rest! You’re exhausted”. Our minds say, “If I only would have said what I really thought...why did I do something so dumb… I have so much to do tomorrow… my third grade teacher never liked me anyway…what color should I paint my bedroom…did I let the dog out…can I cover that check I wrote yesterday…I can’t wait to see that new movie this weekend…life will be so great once I win the lottery”. It can feel never ending.

For the sake of discussion, we’ll call this mindless thinking. Also known as anxiety, overthinking, ruminating, or worrying. Mindless thinking can be tricky and often pretends to be problem solving. The issue with this is when mindless thinking becomes a runaway train and the conductor is either drunk or jumped off to save himself. The good news is that you can be the conductor and you have the power to put the brakes on this runaway train.

The key to interrupting this trend is learning to quiet the mind. This is not something that comes easily in our society. Our culture values multitasking, social media, and being constantly available through our electronics. I became acutely aware of this as I woke up the other morning. I stumbled toward the TV to turn on the news that has become my morning background noise. I returned a phone call while I made coffee, turned on my tablet AND my laptop (this is true, sadly; the laptop for emails and tablet for browsing the internet), all with the soothing hum of the news in the background. I realized that I was using enough electricity for 5 people while I sat there alone. More than the energy waste, I was struck by how mindlessly I turned on the noise in my day.

Part of learning to quiet the mind is to learn to be comfortable with silence. Learning to fight the constant surge of distraction. So much of the time, we’re accustomed to a steady stream of stimulation. At times, this is attractive because silence can be scary. The truth though, is that silence is important. Carl Buechner, noted theologian and writer, quoted “Follow your heart but be quiet for a while first. Ask questions, then feel the answer. Learn to trust your heart”. Silence is essential in learning to trust ourselves and be authentic to our wants and needs.

Silence is not one size fits all. Silence can be mediation, journaling, spending time in nature, prayer, guided imagery, mindfulness techniques, or simply making a point to sit alone. To offer ideas that might work for you, I’ve included some practical ways to be more silent in your day:

  • Take a walk alone. Maybe invite your dog, but otherwise, be alone outside. Focus on what your senses tell you. Notice what you smell, hear, see, feel. Focus on your experience in the moment.

  • Practice muscle relaxation. It is an easy skill to learn, essentially contracting muscles from your head to your toes. Tense each muscle for 5 seconds then slowly release.

  • Use the 4x4x4 breathing technique. Take a 4 second inhale, hold the breath in your belly for 4 seconds, and slowly exhale for 4 more second. Do 10 repetitions. If that doesn’t feel long enough, add on repetitions as needed.

  • Start a gratitude journal. Research performed by Dr. Robert Emmons and Dr. Michael McCullough of the University of California indicated that people who wrote just a few sentences of gratitude per week report higher levels of optimism and life satisfaction. (www.health.harvard.edu/newsletter_article/in-praise-of-gratitude)

  • Practice mindfulness. There is endless information on mindfulness but a good place to start is noticing your senses for 5 minutes. Simply sit in a quiet place and note what you experience. What is the texture of your chair? Is the air around you cool or warm? Is the light bright or dark? Spend 1 minute exploring each sense: smell, taste, touch, hearing, and sight. It is a simple but important 5 minutes. For more ideas about mindfulness, visit www.pocketmindfulness.com.

Like any skill, learning to quiet your mind takes patience and practice. Don’t become discouraged if you try any of these ideas and don’t feel immediate relief. Continue to build on what feels right for you and understand that there is peace of mind within your grasp.

Be Well!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page